FAQ's

Teens Driving - Frequently Asked Questions: 

 

Classroom and Driving Policies: 

CLASSROOM (32 Hours)
Each class and driving time is 2 hours long. Classroom hours will be at the same time each day. Depending on the schedule you choose, you will participate in a 3 week class Monday-Friday and one Saturday morning on the third week. Or if you take a fall class, you will attend a 4 week class Monday-Thursday.


DRIVING (7 hrs Driving, 7 hrs Observation In-Car)
You will have 7 lessons, 2 hours per lesson(1 hour Drive, 1 hour Observation). 2 Drive times are allowed per month, additional drive times may be scheduled bases on schedule availability. 

Drive Time Scheduling Process:

 

CANCELING DRIVE TIMES:
If you need to change or cancel a drive time you must do it online at least 24 hours in advance. Drive Times cancelled within less than 24 hours will incur a $25.00 no show fees.

CLASS MAKE-UP
A student may miss a total of 5 days of class without being dropped from the course (this is a Texas law) Each missed class must be made-up.

Example: If a student misses Lesson 6 they can make up day 6 when the next scheduled class begins. You can visit our Make Up Classes page for a list of make up dates and times. You have 180 days from the date you started class to complete all makeup work. If you do not complete the makeup work TEA requires us to cancel the student's permit.

CONTRACT EXPIRATION DATE
Students have 180 days (6 months) to complete the course. This includes the classroom, make-up lessons and behind-the-wheel. The 180 day start date will be from the first day of class. (This is a Texas Education Agency rule.) 30 Days Extention can be granted for a fee of $25.00. Students must request extention before the original timeline expires.

Top of Page

What Do I Bring To Class? 


 Top of Page

How Do I Get My Learners Permit? 

Learner's License--also known as an Instruction Permit. Once you complete the first 6 hours of classroom training (the first 3 days) and are between the ages of 15-18, you are qualified to apply for your Learner's License.

In order for your student to obtain a Learner's License, you will need to take the following to the DPS:

requires to prove your student has been enrolled in school for the last 80 days

 

 Top of Page

What is VOE Form? 

A TEA/VOE form is obtained from the school where your student is enrolled (usually at the front office.) The form provides documentation to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) of the student's enrollment and attendance status. A student must be enrolled in school before they are allowed to receive an Instruction Permit. The VOE is only valid for 30 days during the school year. For summer classes, students should ask their high school for the VOE form the LAST week of school. By doing this the form will be valid all summer.

Top of Page

Proof of Texas Residency: 

Beginning April 2, 2012 Parents and Students must provide 2 documents proving they are Texas Residents before the teen is eligible to obtain a permit or license. Parents must also sign a Texas Residency Affidavit at the DPS office.

Acceptable documents(The name on the bills/statements must be the name of the parent accompanying the student to the DPS):

  Top of Page

Parents Must Prove Relationship With Student 

Beginning April 2, 2012 Parents must prove their relationship to the student before student will be issued a permit or license.

Acceptable documentation includes, but are not limited to:

  Top of Page

What Form of Payments Are Accepted: 

Cash, Personal Checks and Credit Cards(3% Credit Card transaction fee apply). Prmotional rates must be paid in full. If you prefer to make payments, you can divide the cost in 2 or 3 payments, due each Monday of class. Subsequent payments are due on the following Monday classes. Payment must be made in full before the 15th day of class. If payment is not made, the student may not attend the last day of class and a $25.00 late payment fee will be applied.

Top of Page

What Is a Graduate Licence: 

The Texas Graduated Driver License (GDL) was implemented as a result of Senate Bill 577. This law changed original licensing requirements for persons under the age of 18. GDL creates two phases of driving requirements for minors. The effective date of this change in the law is January 1, 2002. Basic requirements for obtaining a license have not changed.

Phase I:
Applicants under the age of 18 must hold an instructional permit (learner's permit) for a minimum of six months prior to receiving a provisional Class A, B or C driver's license. In addition, the minimum age of the person who must accompany any instruction permit holder while driving is 21 years of age.

Once the student has held a valid instruction permit or hardship license for a minimum of 6 months, has reached the age of 16 and has completed both the classroom and driving portions of driver's education, they are eligible to graduate to Phase Two.

Phase II:
Phase Two restricts the driving privileges of teens under the age of 18 for 6 months after receiving their Class C driver's license (your real Provisional Drivers License!) These teens may not operate a vehicle with more than one passenger in the car under the age of 21 who is not a family member.

In addition, they may not drive between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless it is necessary for the teen to attend or participate in employment or a school-related activity or because of a medical emergency.

During the first 12 months of having their Provisional License, the driver may NOT use a cell phone in any way, dialing, talking on or texting.

The license restriction will state: TRC 545 424 applies until mm/dd/yy. This date indicates when the second phase of the graduated driver's license will expire for that individual. Upon completion of the 6 month period, the above time and/or passenger restriction no longer apply. The licensee may apply for a duplicate license at a DPS office to remove this restriction. A fee is required to obtain a duplicate license. If not, the restriction will be removed at the time the applicant renews the license on
their next birthday, provided the Phase Two, 6 month time has lapsed.

Provisional Driver's License
All original licenses, other than an instruction permit, issued to persons under 18 years of age will be marked "Provisional." The license will be vertical and will be dated to expire on the applicant's next birthday occurring after the date of issuance. A fee is required to obtain this license. The renewal fee is required for each one year of renewal period. No renewal notice will be sent as it is the responsibility of the applicant to obtain a verification of enrollment and attendance from their school. If the instruction permit or the driver's license is not due for renewal a fee is required for a duplicate instruction permit or duplicate license (i.e. lost license, change of address, removal of GDL restriction.)

Top of Page

What is The Grading Policy? 

Appropriate standards shall be implemented to ascertain the progress of the students. Progress standards shall meet the requirements of the currently adopted state curriculum guide.

Mastery is a prerequisite to awarding a grade of 70 or above. Evidence of mastery shall be determined by one or more of the following methods:

  Top of Page

How Do I Schedule My Road Test? 

DFW Driving School,  the only Driving school in Collin County authorized by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to administer the Official Teen Road Test (driving test).  So no matter whether you completed your training in an online classroom , were parent taught or went to another driving school you can take the Official Teen Road Test (driving test) with us using your own or our vehicle for a reasonable cost of $95.00. Drive Test can be scheduled within couple of days after meeting the eligibility criteria.

Click Here to schedule your Road Test with DFW Driving School

 OR

You may also schedule your Road Test with the DPS online. Visit: http://bit.ly/4E3EJ You can search by City or County, then select "Schedule Driving Test Online."

WHEN TO SCHEDULE:
You can schedule your appointment BEFORE your 6 month and/or 16th birthday time limit, but the appointment date must be AFTER your 6 month/16th birthday hold date. (This date is located on the back of your permit.)

You must visit the DPS the day before your scheduled test to turn in your required documents.
(This date must also be AFTER your 6 month/16th birthday hold date.)

You must provide your own car for your Road Test. Your car must have current liability insurance, vehicle registration and vehicle inspection. Good Luck!

 Top of Page

 How Do I Schedule Drive Times?

In order to schedule Drive Times, you must:

 CANCELING DRIVE TIMES:

If you need to change or cancel a drive time you must do it online at least 24 hours in advance. Drive Times cancelled within less than 24 hours will incur a $25.00 no show fees.

 Top of Page

 

How Do I complete ITTD requirement?

Effective September 1, 2015, if you are taking a teen driver education course, you must complete the ITTD requirement before you will be eligible to take the driving skills exam. This requirement to complete ITTD includes individuals aged 18-24, who choose to complete a teen driver education course.

ITTD is a 2 hour informational video that is a prerequisite to the drive skills  examination being administered by the DPS or DFW Driving School. ITTD must be viewed after you have received your DE-964, showing completion of a Teen Driver Education course. 

Click Here to Register and complete ITTD Requirement

 

 Top of Page

 

 

 

Contact Us!

Location:

2050 W. Spring Creek Pkwy     
Suite 204, Plano TX 75023                          

     

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday 3:00PM - 8:00PM      

Saturday 12:00pm-6:00pm
Sunday : Close                                                          

     

        

Phone: (972) 845-7979

Email: dfwdrivingschool@gmail.com